Tagalog, also known as Filipino, is the national language of the Philippines. It is spoken as a first language by more than 26 million people, around a quarter of the population, and as a second language by the majority of the population. Tagalog – officially named Filipino in its standardized form – and English, are both designated as official languages of the Philippines.

Origin of “Tagalog”

The word Tagalog comes from an expression meaning “river dweller”: from tagá (“native of” or “from”), and ilog (“river”).